Hello and welcome to my brand new blog!

I’ve been thinking about starting a blog for a long time, and I’ve finally decided to take the plunge. My name is Eleonora Belfiore (but just about everyone calls me ‘Ele’). I am an academic working in a tiny (but growing!) interdisciplinary field: ‘cultural policy studies’. I am interested in public policies for the cultural sector, and more specifically, the way in which public funding for the arts and culture is justified. You can read more about my research interest in my ‘about’ page, or if you are *really* curious about what I get up to at the University of Warwick, you can check out my official staff page.

I would like to use this blog to share ideas, thoughts, reflections, bits of research that is still in development, and to engage with others in discussion, debate and exchange. This kind of intellectual sharing is indeed what I most love about being an academic. But life is so hectic (have I mentioned I am mum to a very lively toddler?) that I don’t often get the chance to meet up with people to just talk about stuff. So, this blog is my surrogate. I look forward to lively discussions on serious topics, and not so serious ones too, because academics occasionally like having a giggle!

Please leave a comment if anything that you read here sparks your imagination, curiosity or, indeed, irritation. I look forward to reading what you think!

Ele

 

